Leslie, Auriemma Headline FIBA Hall of Fame Class of 2022

Mies, Switzerland – Americans Lisa Leslie and Geno Auriemma headlined the FIBA Hall of Fame Class of 2022, a group of nine individuals who have contributed enormously to the development of women’s basketball.

The enshrinement ceremony will take place on November 30 at the Patrick Baumann House of Basketball in Mies, Switzerland.

Women in Basketball is one of the strategic priorities of FIBA and the decision to make women the focus of this year’s induction reflects that, while also aligning with the FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup 2022, which is underway in Sydney, Australia. The United States will take on China in the Final, which can be watched live in the United States on Saturday on ESPN at 2 a.m. ET.

Leslie is among the most decorated players in international basketball history. The top scorer on USA teams that won FIBA Basketball World Cups in 1998 and 2002, Leslie was also leader in the American sides that captured Olympic gold medals in 1996, 2000, 2004 and 2008. Among her bevy of honors were three WNBA MVP awards, and WNBA Finals MVP awards in 2001 and 2002 after she led the Los Angeles Sparks to championships.

Auriemma, the vaunted coach of the University of Connecticut, led the school to a record 11 NCAA Women’s titles from 1995 to 2016. As the coach of the USA from 2010 to 2016, Auriemma steered the women’s team to two world championships and three Olympic gold medals.

The entire group of the Class of 2022 is made up of players and coaches that have left indelible marks on basketball.

The other inductees are 1997 FIBA Women’s EuroBasket gold medalist Jurgita Streimikyte-Virbickiene of Lithuania; four-time FIBA Women’s AfroBasket MVP Mame Maty Mbengue of Senegal; Olympic silver and bronze medal winning coach Milan “Ciga” Vasojevic of Serbia (posthumously); legendary Spanish coach Maria Planas; long-serving Brazil women’s coach Antonio Barbosa; and seven-time FIBA Euroleague Women winner Catarina Pollini.

Here is the full list of inductees that make up the 2022 Class of the FIBA Hall of Fame:


Lisa Leslie (USA)

Robyn Maher (Australia)

Catarina Pollini (Italy)

Jurgita Streimikyte-Virbickiene (Lithuania)

Mame Maty Mbengue (Senegal)


Geno Auriemma (USA)

Antonio Barbosa (Brazil)

Milan “Ciga” Vasojevic (Serbia – posthumously)

Maria Planas (Spain)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *